Main dishes · Pasta · Recipes

Creamy Red Chard Pasta by Isa

20170619_175019

I picked up this beautiful bundle of fresh rainbow chard at our farmer’s market the other day – wasn’t sure what I would do with it, but I just couldn’t resist the colorful pink, orange and yellow stems.

I finally decided on this “Creamy Red Chard Pasta” by Isa Chandra Moskowitz and it was wonderful!

We enjoyed many dishes from one of her books in the library (found here), so I was confident this new recipe would be a good addition to our menu. In fact, I remember serving her Tofu Mushroom Stroganoff  at a dinner party (with veggie meatballs in place of the tofu), and our guests could not believe the rich sauce was vegan, let alone made from cashews. When the guys went back for seconds, I knew it was a success!

So, I thought I’d give her red chard recipe a go…

20170619_180552

The base of this luxurious vegan sauce is raw cashews. Yes, cashews. If you are new to cashew cream, I’d highly encourage you to give it a try. It really does have all the richness of dairy cream without the saturated fat.

20170619_191440

Vegetable stock, red wine, and herbs, make this silky smooth sauce delicious and decadent.

20170619_191045

As you can see, I decided to use the almonds already in my pantry instead of the pine nuts (which I’m sure are wonderful too).

20170619_191222

Tip: Soak the raw cashews in water for at least an hour and use a high-powered blender, if you have one. This will ensure a smooth base for your sauce.

Serve over hot cooked linguine.

Looking for more delicious dinners? Try Slow-Cooker White Bean Chili, Creamy Cauliflower Alfredo, or Quick Basil Pesto.

Buon appetito!

Jennifer

 

Leave a Reply

