Crafts

DIY Marble Canvas & Headboard Bench

20170621_093242

Here are two awesome DIY finds for you using reclaimed materials! When ever my work load lightens, I love to get creative both in the kitchen and in our home. Most of my home projects involve painting: furniture, a room, thrift store frames – you name it, I’d love to paint it. My husband jokes, “Uh oh, Mom has some time on her hands. What’s she going to paint next?!”

20170621_093114

I searched and searched for some DIY crafts for a large wall and stumbled on this:

 Easy-to-follow tutorial from “The 2 Seasons.”

The project is messy, so be sure to give yourself plenty of room and lay down extra drop cloths.

For my first project, I painted over an inexpensive thrift store canvas with white paint so I had a fresh base at the start. Then, I used the leftover paint samples from our entryway walls (It took us a few tries to find the right blue for our space!). Here is the final result for our master bedroom:

20170706_160147

It was so exciting! I couldn’t believe how beautiful it looked when I lifted the canvas off of the paint. I just love the marbling of the whites, blues and greys.

20170706_160219

Here’s another close up. The key is to use enough paint to allow it to marble together as you lift the canvas:

20170706_160237

I let the kids in on the fun for the next round. We bought more blank canvases in a variety of sizes and used leftover house paints, paint samples, and colorful craft paints.

And Voila! We have these two hanging in our entryway.

20170621_093300

The white headboard bench above is another DIY project. My husband built it from a 1960s twin bed frame we received from our family. I just love the metallic star and detailing on the arm rails!

See: How to Build a Headboard Bench for the complete tutorial.

And back to the canvases: My daughter created this piece for her room:

20170621_093328

For the one below, my son applied paint in a thick layer directly on top of the canvas, and then used the end of a paintbrush handle to carefully create the marbling by hand. This one took a few more days to dry than the others, and I love the way it turned out. It now lives on top of his bookcase.

20170621_093415

This craft is a fun, inexpensive way to add a pop of color to any space. Check out the tutorial from “The 2 Seasons.” I’d love to see the colors you choose!

Jennifer

6 thoughts on “DIY Marble Canvas & Headboard Bench

Leave a Reply

